Snow Day and The Promised Recipes


So today we are stuck inside due to a snow and ice storm. I love when it snows so at least the kids can have fun sleigh riding and building snowmen, but an ice storm leaves us stuck inside. So, since it’s my birthday weekend, we decided to bake some cookies. I always keep clear plastic treat bags on hand and ribbon to tie them with…although I always keep some standard twine on hand, I love to pick up some ribbon that goes with the time of year. I knew my girls would want to incorporate pink for my birthday and with Valentine’s Day right around the corner, heart shaped cookies with pink icing was a win win, so I decided to use some gold ribbon to tie up our bags of cookies. Gold and pink seems so classic yet modern, fun but also romantic. I hope you to can use these ideas to make some of your own cookies and have some fun in the kitchen while staying warm during these winter months!
Ok, now for the recipe I promised yesterday…the original recipe was from Ina Garten’s Barefoot Contessa at home cookbook, but here is my version:
2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup king arthur white whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon baking powder
sprinkling of fairy dust…aka cinnamon
1 1/4 orange juice (measure a little over 1/4 mark)
2 eggs
2 sticks unsalted butter, melted
fruit of your choice…bananas, blueberries, blackberries, strawberries, raspberries…have fun making different varieties
1 1/2 cups of sugar

Preheat oven to 375 and line muffin tins
Mix all dry ingredients together and make a well in the center
Combine OJ, eggs and melted butter in seperate bowl and then pour into the well of dry ingredients and stir until combined…how you stir is the hardest part of this recipe…you don’t want to stir too much or too fast
Add fruit combination of your choice and sugar and gently mix
I LOVE using my ice cream scoops to scoop the batter into the muffin cups…fill to brim
Bake for 22 min or until muffins are baked. Enjoy!

And the super easy recipe from a box: mix one box of Spice Cake Mix with one 15 oz can Pumpkin Puree…do not add any additional ingreidents listed on cake box!! Stir to combine. Now…here is where you can have fun making your own version…add chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, dried cherries or dried cranberries…you can choose one or mix a combination. I am a big “eyeball” measurer when I bake, so eyeball your add-ins to your liking! Bake according to box. Enjoy!

Alright, well it’s my birthday weekend so I am off to continue drinking my glass of wine and hoping that my parents make it in safely!!

Best Wishes,
Heather

Leave a Reply

